I’m just 19, I’m still allowed to feel warm and fuzzy then talk about it on the intarwebz

The world is probably tired of hearing this, but I am at my happiest when I’m with you. And although that sounds co-dependent, cheesy, teenager-ish, or whatever term cynics has come up with to replace the word love, I don’t care. Being with you is the most soothing, fulfilling, tears-of-joy-inducing thing in the world.

This is probably the most often told lie in the whole of the universe, but I really do mean it when I say that you have showed me the true meaning of love. I have been in relationships before and you’ve had your fair share, too, but I believe our sh*t is legit. You made me see the thin line between being in love with the feeling of being in love and actually being head over heels, makes you happy with every gesture, just stares can mean a thousand words, in love.

You make my heart flip when you look at me, really look at me, and it makes me want to squish you and hug you on the spot, as if you’re a real life teddy bear that reciprocates the love I give. Also, I used to think that weak knees and smiles that go from ear to ear were just exaggerations that writers made up to put us normal people in misery and hopelessness as we go for and ultimately fail in the quest of finding fairytale love, but they really do happen. I always feel like melting whenever we stop whatever we are doing just so you can tell me you love me. And I can still hear your voice when you said, “Di naman kita iiwan e.”

Things aren’t always gonna be rainbows and butterflies in relationships, everyone knows that. But when things do suck, I just think of you and that first time you went to my house and came with a box of Nerds. I think of the opening line from Such Great Heights, “I’m thinking it’s a sign that the freckles in our eyes are mirror images and when we kiss they’re perfectly aligned,” because we have that. Just replace freckels with moles. (Mehehe.) I think of when we to say goodbye and just can’t. I think of all our hugs and neither of us is willing to let go so we end up slow dancing, and kissing, and then back to resting in each other’s arms.

Times are hard but what we have is one thing that I am not willing of giving up on. And I know I always say that if the time ever comes when you want out, I will respect it, writing this article made me realize one thing: You have no right to leave. We’re Sandy and Kirsten Cohen, Marshall and Lily–it is because of couples like us that people still believe in love. You wouldn’t want to crush humanity’s hope, right? Nope. I didn’t think so.

I love you. I can make this post as long as I want, but it all ends up to that one thing. I love you. And it’s the best feeling I have ever had.

Leave a Reply

