Game Zoo: A different gaming experience altogether

If I were to ask you to disregard the signboards and the cards and tokens you use to play, would you be able to tell the difference between Timezone, Powerstation, and all the other existing gaming centers here in the Philippines? I know I would have a hard time doing so. But GameZoo is a different story.

The sign above says “Soft opening, please bear with us.” However, if you were to ask me, the things you would have to bear with are minimal if you would compare it with the enjoyment you would get with games available in this gaming center. And besides, the only problems na lang naman is that there are still some facilities under construction, the games still aren’t complete, and the ticketing system is still down–just things you won’t even think of when you’ve already started playing. In truth, it already more than passes my taste.

I don’t know about you guys, but I don’t think I know someone who plays arcade games in Timezone. The Philippines is a crazy place. While in international movies, you might notice that arcades are all the rage, most of the time, I find them empty. We’re all too busy playing race, basketball, shooting, whatever that’s big and eye-catching. I used to be one of those people who’d think, “Why would I play Street Fighter here e, playable naman sa PS,” until this:

Maybe it’s the fact that arcade games are the centerpieces of the second floor, maybe it’s the posh red chairs. Whatever it is, despite my cheap self, GameZoo’s got me spending Php20.00 for a game of Tekken. I’m betting on the posh, soft, uber comfy, red chairs.

One thing you should know about me is that I run from people who’d make me dance in public. There are a lot of ways that I can make a fool of myself, dancing is not one of them. So I don’t know why I enjoyed this game so much. Maybe it’s because it’s less daunting than Dance Revo. Or maybe it’s because I played with Joel. :>

Point is, it’s very fun to play. And it doesn’t give you the urge to just sit down while playing and weep until the song is over–nevermind that the whole of Glorietta 4 is watching you–unlike Dance Revo.

Here are a bunch of other new-to-the-eye games!

Tetris Giant! 😀 You control the tetriminos with this giant joystick. It’s very energy consuming.

Tetris Battle on Facebook’s still better :p

I’m not exactly the biggest fan of Angry Birds here, but I enjoyed this multiplayer version of it! Plus, once the ticketing system is up and running, I’m sure this will be the right path to take to get the biggest stuffed toy everyone dreams of. :>

This is a loser picture, but this is the part of GameZoo that’s Kids At Work-ish. It’s for kids 3-12 years old and it looks real fun!

There are a lot of other things you could enjoy here like the 4D Rider and there’s also a KTV room. You can check out the complete list here. Not everything on that list is up, though, but there are games that sound so cool I can’t wait for it to arrive! :>

GameZoo is definitely something you must check out, and let the kid in you run wild.

Of exhausting dance games and Nina’s combo moves,
V

Leave a Reply

